Health of my T.M.M

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kukosk

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Slovakia
Hi all. I'm a beginner and bought three Testudo Marginatas. The man who sold me them said they're 2 years old, and have been hibernated 2 times. The thing I'm a bit worried of now is, their carapace has 5.2cm and their weight is only 24,26,30grams which should be from what I read a lot more. The man told me it's caused by growing them outside (in Slovakia - in his garden) and by feeding them only by weeds. He said if I put them into water (30-35 degrees celsius) and feed them by blah blah... They would grow up very fast and will be like 400grams in 6 months, but that's bad for them (he said). The thing that disappoints me the most is their carapace. It's a bit 'bouncy' on the bottom. I just wanted to know if it's okay, or if I should be worried, do something etc...

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi Kukosk:

Welcome to the Tortoise Forum!!

May we know your name and where you are?

If the tortoises are 2 years old, then their shell should be nice and firm with no give. If you want to keep them, it would be good to feed them calcium rich foods and a calcium supplement, but they will need to get some real sunshine to make the calcium work.

Kukosk

10 Year Member!
Slovakia
Hi, Thank you for the response. My name's Jakub Klen, and I'm from Slovakia. Yes I started to give them some egg-shells and put them out to have some sunshine, but it's a bit rainy in there now. I'm planning to grow them outside, and doing the best to get it done in there, so they can be outside... :) Is it okay that the bottom of their shell is like .... dunno how to say ... its not firm as a rock, but I can push it a bit...

Terry Allan Hall

5 Year Member
The Republic O' Tejas
Welcome to our little Slice of Heaven!