heating

Status
Not open for further replies.

Balboa

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
PNW
There's probably a good ready answer from experienced keepers, here I give the standard I'm new to this, so I might be useless.

however, that seems like a bit of an apples and oranges to me, and it will likely depend on application. Watts is Watts so equal wattage red bulb to che should be good for the same heat overall in an enclosed space. That being said, I'm under the impression that the che puts out more of a spotlight effect. It radiates non visible heat waves that can travel some distance to interact with an object and heat it. The red bulb "wastes" some of its energy as visible light, which still winds up heating the enclosure as long as it doesn't escape. Much of its heat will be output directly at the source, and not necessarily where you want it.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Before I installed my solar panels, I was at first using CHE's in all my tortoise sheds. My power bill was sky high (not just from the CHE's, but because I have so many tortoises that need to be kept warm). I was always looking for ways to cut my bill. I noticed that when I switched on a CHE in a shed, the light that was on actually dimmed a bit, because the CHE was drawing so much electricity. So I switched out all the 100 watt CHE's for 60 watt black lights. I noticed a big drop in my power bill, but didn't notice any drop in the heating of the sheds. The black light bulb puts out quite a bit of heat and replaces the CHE's handily!

M

Maggie Cummings

I agree, I use black light bulbs in all my habitats...I use 1 CHE just because I have it...but with an over $300 electric bill I think I'm gonna switch it out for a black light bulb...

moswen

5 Year Member
interesting... i just use che's cause it doesn't produce light. i will have to ask my husband about electric bills over the winter and do some experimenting.

Tom