hello all!

jobroyo

Location (City and/or State)
Oregon
Hello everyone! I am a BIG newbie to tortoise care. I am going to be owning a Russian Tortoise very soon, and I want to provide the best care possible for her. I am doing lots of research and I have the basic facts down. I will be on here to learn about the community and my lil girl. Thank you!

teresaf

5 Year Member
Port Charlotte, Florida
Welcome... This forum has the most knowledgeable breeders and owners out there. ALOT of new care info has been discovered due to folks on this forum. I hear Russians are great beginner torts. Very personable as torts go. One of the new discoveries is torts are solitary animals and don't need or want a buddy so don't 'accidentally' come home with two or you may find yourself building two enclosures in future. Also look around here at other enclosures to get an idea of minimum size requirements, types of lighting (no coil bulb), beddiing and food no-nos, ECT... Hopefully someone will be along to post a couple quick Links to beginner mistakes and others for Russian care. I don't know how. If buying from store I would suggest you not buy the ramped bowl(tipping/drowning hazard) the pet stores will try to foist off on you or really anything else. They don't know anything about torts.

jobroyo

Oregon