Hello All

badainzly

Location (City and/or State)
Manhattan, KS
I have been lurking around the forum for awhile, and reading up on as much info as I can but I thought it was time to introduce myself. :) My name is Kate, I am currently located in Manhattan, KS and I'm a third year vet student at KSU. My plan is to be a general mixed practice veterinarian back home in Maine. I am not a total novice tortoise owner, and I did a lot of research before getting my first tortoise (Spartacus) back in 2006. However, I have realized since then that there were some things I was doing that weren't ideal. My first tortoise was a Russian that I got from Petco and was told was about a year old (obviously not true). He passed away this past January and after having his funny personality and quirks for 12 years I was pretty devastated.

Between being an animal person, the daughter of a veterinarian, and becoming a veterinarian myself I am pretty dedicated to taking excellent care of my pets and setting them up for success. I also have a Great Dane/St. Bernard cross, a Border Collie, two rescue cats, and a horse. After Spartacus passed and I decided that I was ready for another tortoise, I was determined to have a close to a perfect set up as possible because I want this tortoise to outlive me. :)

I started researching getting another tortoise and found this forum (I was also pretty excited that the recommendations here were pretty much the same as I learned in my Exotic Species class). I finally decided that I wanted to get a Leopard tortoise, and after establishing my set up (since I had to over haul everything I already had) I got my baby.