hello, and help :)

tobymytort

Location (City and/or State)
manchester
hello,
first i’m from england and my name’s isobel

so i am new to having a tortoise, ( he’s a horsefield) and am scared that i’m doing something wrong,i read up loads on all different tortoises to make sure i knew what i was doing but having him is different.
He’s around 14 weeks old now i’ve had him for 2 weeks and i love owning a tortoise so far however i don’t want to let him down so i would love some advice, right now i think he has diarrhoea and i don’t know why or what to do so please help , thankyou x

tobymytort

manchester
C09761D0-5BF9-4F7F-A18F-E8412BD7DC1F.jpeg
Hi and welcome, what are you feeding him, it might be that he needs more fibre in his diet. We would love to see some pics:)

so basically his diet has just been kale and occasionally melon and other greens, i try to test stuff out to see how it goes, he doesn’t like the dried chamomile flowers the shop keepers made us buy which is fabulous:tort:

also this is him :)

Ben02

Brighton, Southcoast, UK
Handsome fella, yes only feed fruit as a treat. I reckon he needs more fibre, for example dandelions and plantain. I am in Britain as well and I know there hard to find this time of year, but if you go into the country side or fields your bound to find some:)

LaLaP

5 Year Member
Portland, OR
Hi and welcome! Here is another good thread to read as a beginner to tortoises:

https://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/beginner-mistakes.45180/

Just from that photo I can see a couple changes you might want to make. That substrate has little white bits (calcium?perlite?) and those can be eaten and cause blockages and impaction. Also it looks like you have a red light. If so, those encourage torts to eat substrate too. That combination is especially concerning because those white bits under the light with look like delicious red fruit.