Hello! Another Ill informed newbie here. Advice welcome!

Bobtortoise123

Hi there from the North West U.K. I bought Bob the Horsfield tortoise in Feb this year as a 6 month old. Although I did research before I found lots of contradictions and so stupidly took the advice of the 'reputable' pet shop we got him from. He was only £40 if bought with set up (viv) and we were told to keep the red heating light always on even through night (uv for 12 hours), feed him only cabbage and kale and never hibernate him. I was told the viv was best and to be honest at the time felt relieved as this seemed safe and easy.

Luckily I recently spoke to a vet and was put onto some more reliable websites. I am so angry that the pet shop were so rubbish with advice!

I've started feeding him mainly weeds which are on the safe list off a piece of slate and my husband has built a table which is 5ftx5ft. I intend to get him out in the warmer weather but may move later in this year so won't build anything too permanent yet and would need to be supervised as we have a hungry fox family close who use our garden.
I have ordered an Arcadia uv/ heat bulb to go on the table but whilst waiting tried to use the red bulb and uv from the viv, he was in this yesterday but just buried himself in the soil and didn't come out all day today at all, not even for dinner!
I am now worried the table is cold as he's used to heated viv? Our house is very old and very cold at night, I sleep in fleece pjs even now so could it have been too cold? Do I need another heat source? I tried to test heat but the temp gun I got from eBay won't turn on!

Any advice welcome, I've put him back in the viv for now as it is easier to check heat, he's just basked since back in.

hettisurmail