Hello fellow tort admirers

matt perl

My names Matt
I live in ottawa Ontario Canada
This past week I saw an advertisement for torts and I simply couldn't refuse
I've wanted one for as long as I can remember.
The deal was almost unbelievable so I couldn't pass up the opportunity to finally own my own pet so I jumped on it
The guy had three a sulcata , a red foot, and a cherry head
All about a month old
He wanted a third of the "normal" price
Really old gross greens in the in closure and there was no visible water.
So I was skeptical of course
I took one look at the cherry head red footed tort and had to have it
I named him Zero
And I've had him a few days now.
I have done a lot of research and feel like I have made educated decisions regarding substrate and diet and such. I work in the restaurant industry so I have taken home several fruits and vegetables to try out what he will enjoy eating.
My problem is I'm worried about a possible shell rot situation and am worried
I bought a children's tooth brush and some anti septic as well as some fungal soap that I found in the foot section of the pharmacy
I'm crossing my fingers hoping I made the right call
I was looking for some advise from fellow tort lovers
I will post a couple pics and anyone with some input it would be much appreciated
ImageUploadedByTortForum1398217198.505942.jpgImageUploadedByTortForum1398217210.788122.jpgImageUploadedByTortForum1398217222.338339.jpgImageUploadedByTortForum1398217244.474698.jpgImageUploadedByTortForum1398217276.288294.jpg

Ashes

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Iowa