Hello from Los Angeles!

Status
Not open for further replies.

OxyBen

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Hi everyone!

My name is Ben, I am a student in Los Angeles and an getting ready for my first tortoise. I have her/his little house all ready and am looking to make the drive down to Oceanside tomorrow to visit LLL Reptile. I am thinking about getting a baby Greek seeing as they do not get to large and from what I have read are a fun tortoise to have.

If anyone has any beginner tips for me, feel free to shout it out!

Cheers

Ben

Crazy1

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Inland Empire, CA
Welcome to the forum Ben. Research, research, research. Is my advice. Oh and shredded aspen for you little ones substrate, it is light, easy to see soiled areas and they can burrow in it nicely.

OxyBen

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Thanks guys! I will be sure to upload pics right away. Right now I have alfalfa hay, alfalfa pellets and T-rex desert snow. I like the desert snow a lot...its soft hah.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
I haven't heard of the desert snow product, but alfalfa hay and alfalfa pellets aren't good to use. Too high in protein.

Welcome to the forum. There are quite a few Greek keepers here and you will find the CORRECT information for your new baby!

Yvonne

OxyBen

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Eep Alfalda pellets n such are bad? Ughhh good to know, I will post some pics to show u the stuff I have. The desert snow is hard wood pulp. What would be the best bedding for the little bugger?

Not sure how to post pictures...ere we go

TORTOISE HOUSE!

IMG_0575.jpg

IMG_0573.jpg

IMG_0570.jpg

IMG_0576.jpg
AND FISH!

OxyBen

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Crazy1 said:
Welcome to the forum Ben. Research, research, research. Is my advice. Oh and shredded aspen for you little ones substrate, it is light, easy to see soiled areas and they can burrow in it nicely.