Hello from SC-total newb

bookish19

Location (City and/or State)
South Carolina
Hi all! Aside from 30yrs ago when my family rehabbed an injured Gopher tort in FL, I don’t have tort experience. We’re dog & horse people, even though I adore turtles & torts. ;)
Anywho-found a baby box turtle in our garage this afternoon. Little dude seemed a bit listless and dry, so we fixed up a bin w/topsoil, Moss, Tupperware lid for holding water, upside down plant cup cut to make a temporary hide, and young pill bugs & young earthworms. Our yard is pesticide free, & we live in the country on a hill, so no road runoff, in South Carolina. Anything else I should do, right away? I just want to make sure this little one has a chance before we release him, or bring him to a wildlife rescue if not doing well. Eyes now seem bright & clear, legs are strong (unlike earlier). First pic was when we found him. In the bin pics, he seems to be doing better, exploring & such. Any advice is welcome, but please be kind :) Thank you in advance!

7E8EECCE-8AB7-4B95-8ED3-D19B03A80486.jpeg E208E3FC-3F1F-4652-8F63-DCE3E430F74F.jpeg E43725E7-161A-49E9-852C-D6B6E2246FC6.jpeg

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
You've made a nice little enclosure for him. Keep it moist and cover the top to keep in the humidity. Soak him in a bowl of shallow water for about 15 minutes daily.

bookish19

South Carolina
Right-He should be able to keep his head out of the water-so maybe mid-shell height, or a little more shallow than that? I read that the water dish should barely reach the bottom of the shell...not sure about soaking, but I’ll keep reading!

ZEROPILOT

REDFOOT WRANGLER
Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
South Eastern Florida (U.S.A.)/Rock Hill S.C.
Hello.
I grew up in York county.
Rock Hill.
They make great pets. But it's a native turtle and would be best left alone outdoors.
I used to find them in the woods pretty often. Usually near a creek.