Hello! New Russian Tortoise owner - Morty

CraigIN

Location (City and/or State)
Indiana
Hello Everyone! I'm new to the tortoise business. I was really working on finding the perfect companion for my family and decided to purchase a Russian tortoise. His name is Morty! They told me is about 4 years old but they are unsure. I decided to buy at a pet store because I can't stand the thought of him living in that condition for any length of time. He seems active and loves to run around in backyard (while the weather is still nice - I live in Indiana.) I currently have him house in a 40gal terrarium but I'm currently working on a much larger indoor enclosure (10ft wide by about 3 feet deep). I noticed he hasn't eaten yet and is consistently hiding. Even when he was roaming outside, if I sat down, he would try to burrow under my legs. Is this typical? From my research I saw that it can be but I wanted to make sure. I have attached images of his current living space and a picture right after I purchased him! I have owned Morty for 2 days now and I'm super excited for our future together!
IMG_1166.JPG IMG_1168.JPG

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi, and welcome!

Morty is a lot older than 4. He's almost full grown. Because the Russian tortoise is such a small species, pet stores figure they're younger than they actually are. In order for pet stores to be able to legally sell tortoises, the animal has to be at least 4" front to back. It takes a small species, like a Russian, quite a few years to gain that size.