Hello new to site

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mysulcata Franklin

5 Year Member
I have a new 2 month old and I'm thinking I need some help with the housing? I have him or her in a 20 gallon tank with a heat lamp and a 10.0 UVB . I started the tank off with some calcium sand and that's all but I've been looking at some amazing enclosures & I think, I'm doing it all wrong. Can I please get some advice, it would be very helpful. Thanks!!!

TKCARDANDCOIN

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Ohio
I would replace the sand with eco earth and sand(50/50 mix).The bulb and 10.0 uvb seem fine though.Good luck,tom.I would also keep the substrate damp to provide humidity.

Mysulcata Franklin

5 Year Member
Thanks for your advice, can I purchase the eco earth & sand at any pet store? Any kind of damp is fine? Also I have a small piece of cage carpet for him, is that ok? Sorry I'm new to this and I wouldn't want anything to happen to my little sulcata. Thanks

M

Maggie Cummings

Hi and welcome to the forum. The substrate should be moist enough to hold it's shape when you squeeze it. You'll get the eco earth at the chain stores like Petco. It could also be called bed a beast. Mix it 50/50 with clean play sand. He needs humidity to help prevent pyramiding. I think that your UVB light is too much for a 20 gallon aquarium. I would be afraid of eye damage. I dislike that calcium sand as impaction can be a problem if they eat too much of it. You didn't mention a hide...does he have a small safe hide to sleep in?
No to the cage carpet...JMO

Mysulcata Franklin

5 Year Member
Hello, as far as the UVB light, the pet store where I purchased him from recommend that I use that big of the light b/c of the size of the aquarium. I recently had one of those spiral bulbs and took it out b/c I did notice his eye was starting to shut but changed the lighting and got better, but I'll keep a closer eye on him. I'll change that carpet today ASAP.