Hello

Location (City and/or State)
SoCal
Hello everyone, my name is Jim from Southern California and I've been raising Tortoises for 23 years. I'm 28 years old and work/own a small business with my very small family.

When I was a small boy I was shown a cartoon by my older cousin, that is known as the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turles and ever since then I have had an obsession with Tortoises. After seeing this show I asked my father for two things, a turtle and to sign me up for karate lessons. My interest in martial arts faded due to my lack of coordination but my love for Tortoises never died.

When I was 5 my dad bought me my first adult Red Eared Silder, and it died almost as soon as I got it. So he got me another and it died almost as fast as the first one. I learned that if one acquires a Red Eared Slider, then one must first perpare a grave for they die very easily. My father being a frugal man decided to stop wasting his money on sliders and instead got a license to own a Mojave Desert Tortoise. It was my Mojave Desert Tortoise, who I named Dave, that changed my life forever and set me on the course that I am on right now.

Dave was the Dog my father never allowed me to have. Dave would follow me around our property, rest on my feet and let me scratch his neck. As a child I felt as if Dave would be in my life forever. After 9 or so years of caring for Dave, he disappeared. My family and I searched high and low and never found him.

7 years went by when one day on my way to my morning college classes a tortoise with a messed up shell came walking down my driveway. The shell showed clear signs that it had been struck by a small vehicle, and upon further inspection I found on the underside of his shell where his hind legs hide a faded permanent marker property marking that read "Property of Jim."