Hello!

Amconaway88

Location (City and/or State)
Sandusky, Ohio
Hello everyone!

After extensive research (and a lot of begging from my husband and children) I recently purchased a red footed hatchling from a private breeder. I'm so excited for this new experience, and I can't wait to watch him grow!

A little about myself, my name is Anelise and I am a 29 year old wife and mother of 3 little boys. While I have little experience with tortoises, I do have a lot of experience with animals! My red-footed baby arrived this morning, about an hour ago, and after a soak he is now exploring his new home a bit! I have carefully followed all of the recommendations that I've read for his new home, and he seems to be doing well so far. My only concern, and I know I'm probably being neurotic, but he hasn't eaten yet. The breeder advised me to offer food after his soak when he arrived and I did, but he didn't seem interested. He did appear to drink a bit during his soak and was definitely very active!

How long does it normally take for a new hatchling to start to eat when you get it?

Any and all advice is welcomed! Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• 1534432281210487303273.jpg
    1534432281210487303273.jpg
    913.7 KB · Views: 16

TechnoCheese

5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Lewisville, Texas
Welcome! It might take a week or more before he eats. Could we see a picture of your whole enclosure? He’s super cute!

LoonyLovegood

Colorado Springs, CO
Hi and welcome! I'm the same age and a mother of boys as well haha. I just got a baby leopard two days ago and still haven't seen her eat. Sometimes it just takes time for them to get used to their new surroundings :)

Amconaway88

Sandusky, Ohio
Thanks for calming my fears a little about his not eating!