Help! (12yr old wants tortoise temporarily)

mizzox

I've been loving tortoises for 3 months now and love everything about them! But recently, I've had a talk with my mother about them and she made me think realistically about their life span. This Christmas I was going to get one but 50 years is just way too long, it will effect me so much later in life; which is the topic of this. Does anybody have an idea if I could keep it for 10 years then ship it to somewhere or someone; or if it's a full time commitment. All replies are appreciated I thank you for trying to help me with this. If I can't find any good ideas then I'll get a cat, but will stay obsessed with tortoises. That will be painful :(

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
Keeping any live animal is a full time commitment. That animal will depend on you 24/7.

I have no problem with someone raising a reptile for a few years and then finding it a new good home. As long as the animal's needs are met, it won't care.

And they are just hitting their prime at 50 years old. There have been several on record at over 180 years old.

mizzox

Keeping any live animal is a full time commitment. That animal will depend on you 24/7.

I have no problem with someone raising a reptile for a few years and then finding it a new good home. As long as the animal's needs are met, it won't care.

And they are just hitting their prime at 50 years old. There have been several on record at over 180 years old.
Don't worry, I know what I have to do. Trust me I've done hours of research. I was talking about russian tortoises btw :) I'll look in to that the moment I get it I'll look for a new home if i do get it. BRING ON THE REPLYS heh

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA