HELP!! New Baby Sulcata

Location (City and/or State)
Kansas
Hey guys!! I'm new to tortoise keeping and I just got a baby sulcata tortoise! (Pip) He is the best thing ever! I got him on Tuesday from backwater reptiles. There are some things about him that worry me though.....

He squeaks. I've read up online that this could be a symptom of respiratory infection, but gen had no other symptoms!

Also, he sleeps most of the time. Is this normal for babies? He does wake up and walk around occasionally, and he does eat, and he does drink. The rest of the time he just sleeps.

If anyone can help me out it would be much appreciated. I just love Pip so much already!

-Vanessa

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Hello and welcome Vanessa.

You've made mistake number one. Read this for more explanation: https://tortoiseforum.org/threads/beginner-mistakes.45180/

Then read these for the correct care and feeding info. Most of the care info you find is old, wrong, and based on old incorrect assumptions of how they live in the wild. This is NOT a desert species.
https://tortoiseforum.org/threads/how-to-raise-a-healthy-sulcata-or-leopard-version-2-0.79895/
https://tortoiseforum.org/threads/for-those-who-have-a-young-sulcata.76744/

Get your temps up to 85 day and night and soak daily. This will be easiest in a large closed chamber. Don't wait. Time is critical. Some of these babies make it and some don't. All you can do is offer the best possible warm monsoon conditions and hope for the best. Also, there is nothing a vet can do in a case like this. Most of what they would do will make things worse.

Kansas
I'm afraid I don't under stand... He is soaked daily, kept at 80 degrees, had a grass diet, etc. I really don't see what you message means. It's very vague. So he is sick?

EllieMay

5 Year Member
East Texas