Help! Unable to look down??

Reni Rex

Our 6 year old tortoise doesn't seem to be able to look down to pick up food. At her last home (see intro post for details) she was given her food on a paper plate in her tank, where the plate was put at an angle on a pile of wood chips so it would be at eye level or higher for her. (She was kept in a smallish tank for years before living with us, now in a fenced in yard.) She is unable to eat food flat on the ground in front of her. She tries a few times and gives up. I'm new to tortoises, but I don't think this is normal? I don't know how she can drink water if she can't turn her head down to her water bowl. Previous owner said she gets her water through romaine lettuce, but the care sheets say otherwise. It looks like the part of her shell directly under her head protrudes upward a bit, so maybe that has something to do with it?
100MEDIA95IMAG0255.jpg

yillt

Maybe she has something wrong with her eyesight. She does need water. Give her a deep tub of water so she barely has to look down to get it. Wait until some more experienced owners come but I think it is probably that. :)

Reni Rex

She tilts her head and looks at the food and she watches moving things, so I think it's more of a neck problem maybe. I will be getting her a tub today! :}

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Because she was never made to get her head down past the gular, she has not learned how to do this. I don't know what to tell you, but you have to figure out a way to teach her how to move her head over to the side so she can get past the gular. It does look like the gular is a bit thickened, but really, most tortoises know how to get past it and reach the ground or pool.

If you know of a good tortoise vet, you might take the tortoise in to get the vet's opinion. The gular might need to be filed down some.

ascott

10 Year Member!
Apple Valley, California