help! what is this spot on rescued turtle?

Location (City and/or State)
minnesota
Long story short- someone found a turtle left behind in a apartment and brought it to me. I'm the tortoise lady, this is my first turtle. I have no idea of its previous care of course and didn't even know what type of turtle it was which I now think it's a western paint? Anyways I am concerned about this spot. What is this? Please don't say it septic! Hope my pic uploads... I've never tried before. It's the red spot towards bottom

IMG_20181009_191147.jpg

Markw84

10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Sacramento, CA (Central Valley)
That is indeed a western painted turtle - Chrysemys picta belli

The picture is pretty blurry - from what I see it looks to be some sort of lesion - like it was a shell rot area that has been cleaned of the rot. could be an injury right at that seam that has opened up. A clear picture would help. But in any case you should treat that with an antifungal cream. Over the counter athelete's foot cream works just fine. But please post a better picture.

minnesota
Thab
That is indeed a western painted turtle - Chrysemys picta belli

The picture is pretty blurry - from what I see it looks to be some sort of lesion - like it was a shell rot area that has been cleaned of the rot. could be an injury right at that seam that has opened up. A clear picture would help. But in any case you should treat that with an antifungal cream. Over the counter athelete's foot cream works just fine. But please post a better picture.