help with humidity level.

Status
Not open for further replies.

cyyoung749

5 Year Member
Hey guys, its getting cold out here in new york city. Im really concerned about weather, specially humidity. When it comes to winter time humidity drops to 20-30 or lower. Since my black greek tortoise is a baby and needs higher humidity, Im trying to increase humidity level to at least 40-50. Im not really sure how to increase humidity level. any good ideas to increase humitiy in enclosures? Im a beginner tortoise keeper and i need alot of help from you guys. please help me!
Thank you guys!

ewam

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Southern Ca.
Well you can pour water in the substrate then mix the substrate and do this every few days and spray the top of it every day. If it drys out to quickly then you can pour water in every other day.

I have that same problem in the summer though. It is much easier here to keep up the humidity in the winter and spring.

AnthonyC

5 Year Member
New York
I'm from NY and I'm experiencing those humidity blues too. I try to keep the levels up by dumping at least 2 cups of very warm water over the coco coir/cypress mulch substrate and mash it around. It helps a little bit but it's no miracle worker.

ewam

5 Year Member
Southern Ca.
Oh maybe a humidifier.

They might be a little pricey tough, but they will last for many winters to come.

HipsterTorts

5 Year Member
Southern California
What kind of enclosure is it? What kind of substrate are you using?

For my greeks enclosures I soak their substrate once a week and mix it around. I mist the top layer 3 times a day, everyday.

BaddestMarie

5 Year Member
Bronx,NY
I have the same problem since i live in new york as well. I have coconut fiber in my tank && when its wet/damp in there, i tend to see little tiny grey bugs in the coconut fiber. Is that normal?! What are they?

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
You can:
Dump water in the substrate.