Hermann Under Stress

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kirstie

5 Year Member
Baby Hermann

Hello all,

This is my first time on a tortoise forum, here goes!

I bought a 12 week old Hermann last week who I named Diego, he is a friend to my 1 year old Hermann named Consuela.

Up until yesterday they were getting on really well, they were playing nicely together apart from Consuela standing on Diego a lot! But yesterday Consuela started ramming Diego & now 'he' seems a bit timid & hasn't come out of his house. Is this normal? Will Consuela stop ramming him?

If anyone has any thoughts please let me know. I'd be interested to see what you think & chat to other tortoise owners.

Thank you!

I might have attached a picture of my lovely tortoises below but not sure if it worked!

image-1021252181.png

Terry Allan Hall

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
The Republic O' Tejas
RE: Baby Hermann

Couple possibilities:

(a) terrirorial attitude...she considers him to be an interloper.

{b) Consuela is really a Carl and he wants to be the "alpha"...male tortoises are just like that.

Best to seperate them, or Diego may soon die from stress.

Welcome to our little slice o' heaven, btw. :)

Kirstie

5 Year Member

Is that really possible that he could die from stress? I hope not 

He seems a bit better this afternoon, he's wandering about & eating loads; I've been keeping a close eye on them & I haven't seen Consuela ram him, hopefully she won't.

They are amazing pets, couldn't imagine not having them now! 

tyler0912

5 Year Member
Blackburn, U.K.

Agree with the above post and a little constructive criticism....
Can i request that you remove the sand as it can irritate the eyes and cause impaction and kill your tort....i reccomend coco coir or a topsoil (no pesticides) !