Hi everyone

Davina1

I am new to this site and need some advice! I am a veterinary nurse not of exotics and we had a stray tortoise brought in, she is very malnourished with a deformed shell. She hasn't eaten in over two weeks. I am currently waiting for a tortoise house for her at the moment. She is on soil with a uv lamp with soaks daily. She is bright a little bad tempered. She is drinking when she is in the bath. Any tips on trying to get her to eat short of tube feeding? ( I am experienced at tube feeding) but would like her to eat on her own. I think she is a horse field tortoise? We haven't got a exotic vet near us have tried to get advice but to no avail. Tortoise rescue are full and can't help I am happy to keep her and want to make sure I get her back on track with eating. Sorry for the long message. I hope some one can help.ImageUploadedByTortoise Forum1427616706.821364.jpg the picture doesn't show her body is too big for her shell and its curling up at the back. Her beak was severly over grown and my vets have been able to trim that back and she did eat a bit of cucumber and strawberry but that's two weeks ago.

mikeylazer

5 Year Member
Welcome to the forum! I personally can be of no assistance, but i assume there are people on here that can really help you. I have heard of putting mashed carrot baby food in the soaking water so when she drinks she will gain nutrients, but like I said I really am not entirely sure what is best. I hope she is okay!

lismar79

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Ohio USA
Try adding a jar of carrot baby food to the soak water. Other than that you can offer some pumkin puree, the kind you buy for pies without any spices. Put a glob of that in the food bowl on some healthy greens. They take some time to get use to new places and new foods. Do you know what she was fed in the past?

Tidgy's Dad

5 Year Member
Fes, Morocco