Hot humid hide problems

Sward91

Hello! I am new to tortoise keeping and have recently purchased 2 Hermanni hermanni from a captive breeder in the Uk.

I have researched into hot humid hides but I am struggling to get humidity. My tortoises are kept on a table which I have recently covered with some poly carb which has slightly helped in keeping temps etc.
For the humid hide I currently use a plastic tub, layered with a base of coco coir and topped with sphagnum moss. It is wet/damp (not swimming) in consistency. I am using a CHE in a ceramic lamp holder to direct the heat a little better as it's cold here in the Uk at the minute. This is giving temps of 27c. The problem - humidity is only reading 60% after a warm spray daily?

Any help would be appreciated. My babies (7months) have signs of early pyramiding so I need to nip this in the bud ASAP!

Regards

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Southern California
Sounds like your overall ambient humidity is also too low. If humidity inside your hide is that low, there is too much airflow somehow. Maybe the opening is too big? In my experience, babies will fare much better with the stability and higher humidity of a closed vivarium (as you folks across the pond call it), than an open table, which is fine for adults.

Also, what are you using for substrate? I have found damp coco coir to be a good choice, as it allows them to burrow down into it and create their own little microclimates.

Last thing is: I would not house them together. Pairs can be a recipe for disaster, regardless of sex. They are not friends, they are competitors and combatants for the same resources and territories. Even as babies and juveniles. Groups will usually fare okay until they start nearing maturity and the males begin their actual physical combat, but pairs are just too personal and confrontational.

Sward91

Hi Tom.
thanks for the advice.