How bad is this tortoise pyramiding?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TortTopper

5 Year Member
Hey guys, just recently adopted this sulcata from my neighbour who obviously did not take good care of it. When I saw it I immediately saw the pyramiding and offered to adopt it. I would just like to know how bad the it's pyramiding is. From a scale of 1 - 10, 1 being the least amount of pyramiding to 10 being a very bad form of pyramiding.

Heres a pic:
3AskTIw.jpg

Tortus

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Maryland
I guess it depends on your definition of "bad". I'm no expert neither, but it looks like all new growth has gone up. It doesn't look terrible at this stage to me. Maybe you can get it under control before it gets too big.

mainey34

5 Year Member
Peoria, Arizona
Lets just say that the tort has pyramiding..best thing to do is to correct it now...lots of sunshine, humidity, greens. They key factor is humidity......

luvpetz27

5 Year Member
Ohio USA
I am glad you have him know and can take better care of him! He is very pretty and doesnt look that bad to me.
Enjoy him :)

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
It doesn't look that bad to me. Pyramiding is just cosmetic if s/he has been raised healthy/properly.

TortoiseWorld

5 Year Member
Lisle Illinois
Yes he is pyramiding, so you need to change some things to stop it, humidity, nutrition, UVB light etc.
Here is some pics of some older Sulcata with a normal carapace.

Dscn2737.jpg
sulcata-tortoise-3-500.jpg
sulcata_breeding.JPG
sulcata-tortoise-2-500.jpg
sulcata-tortoise.jpg
DSCN2975.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

sibi

10 Year Member!
Florida, USA