how long to adjust to new home?

loveovercomes

Location (City and/or State)
Jackson, MI
Hello!

I've been researching tortoises for a few months now and brought home a russian tortoise this weekend (saturday). She is VERY active, moving around a lot during the day, but has yet to eat anything. I'm offering fresh green veggies, the pellets the store suggested, and a blueberry. Is it ok she hasn't eaten yet? How long before I should be worried? Ideas on enticing her to eat? Thanks!

Ariel

T Smart

5 Year Member
Chicago, IL

loveovercomes

Jackson, MI
Thanks for the quick response. I'm currently at work and do not have a picture of the enclosure on my computer. However, it has a ceramic heat emitter on one end, the basking light in the center, and the UV light on the other end. There is a hide in the middle, food on one end, water on the other. It's coconut bedding and I should add that I was also told to give her a little timothy hay, which I have done. I'll add a picture when I'm able to, and remove fruit. Thanks again!

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
Hello and welcome.

Sounds like you got the typical bad pet store advice and a wild caught pet store tortoise. This is a tough way to go, but we'll try to help.

They can take more than month to adjust to a new territory. Wild caught adults sometimes never settle in and get comfortable. Most pet stores also sell enclosures that are much too small, which compounds the problem. An adult Russian needs at least 4x8 feet of floor space. Most pet stores sell them with a 40 gallon tank.

Russian don't eat hay. If your substrate is properly moist, then it will mold and become a hazard. You should remove that and either toss it or return it to the store. Or give it to someone with an adult sulcata. :)