How much does a 25-35 y.o. Sulcata need to eat?

KarenH

Location (City and/or State)
Yuma, AZ
Hi, I've been a Sulcata mom for 4 days. We got the 20 minute limited introduction and info from the sellers of our new house before they departed. The Sulcatas were supposed to be gone when we took possession; that was the plan, but "the guy" didn't come get them. I am interested in keeping them but I'm just intimidated by the learning curve/not wanting to do them any harm (I'm new to tortoises, new to SW, new to desert, new to desert plants...). We thought "the guy" who is another tortoise keeper would be a better caretaker for them. But apparently not.

The sellers left us 2 coolers of veggies for them, which was kind. Geronimo, the male, who's about 2 1/2 feet long, is friendly and curious. Missy, the female, doesn't come running to us, but has eaten what we put out. She was in the den for the first three days of us having this new house, but yesterday, she came out and quickly ate 3 carrots we had put out. Previously, Geronimo had Day 1: 1 zuchinni and a big prickly pear cactus segment. Day 2: 1 cucumber, 2 carrots. Day 3: 1 zuchinni and a cactus segment. Day 4: 4 carrots and a puddle of water in the depression where the seller said she "sometimes" puts water for them. Today we gave him a 1/2 head of cabbage and refilled the water hole.
The seller had just removed/sold the last clutch? of small tortoises. Apparently Geronimo loves Missy very much so they are prolific 3-4x a year? Oh, the seller also told us not to remove the empty (real) tortoise shell from the back corner of the yard, because that gets Missy a break now and then when Geronimo is feeling frisky. Their 1/3 acre stone-wall enclosure has everything they need, except where I'm seeing in all the threads that they need grasses... There are abundant prickly pear cactus but just bare dirt from them lumbering around. They den and come and go as they please.