How to help a sullen Sully be happy...

Anna Westphal

Location (City and/or State)
Dolores, Colorado
Hey everyone. I hope this isn't too long of a post, but I am in need of moral support. I obtained my Sulcata tortoise August of last year. I consider it sort of a rescue, although I paid for her. I had stopped by my local pet store to say hello to my friend who owns it and saw her living in a plastic tub. I was told she was 5 years old and had previously spent her life living in a bathtub, but got too big so the family took her to my pal. I spent a sleepless night thinking about how I needed to get this magnificent creature out of there and went back first thing in the morning and brought her home. It was an impulse decision, but one I could not fight. I have had lots of experience with turtles, but Stella was my first contact with Sulcatas, so I had a lot to learn. I have since found out (traumatically) she is a male. After soaking her one day I picked her up and thought she was dying from a prolapsed uterus. After reading the forum and hearing about others experiencing something similar, I googled "tortoise penises" (I am probably on an FBI watch list), I quickly realized Stella was a fella but I think she identifies as female so her name is still Stella. Hope you all understand the humor here.