Howdy, newbie here.

jiakurai

Hey all, I'm jake from the Tampa Bay Florida area. Newer to the tort life, and am excitedly getting into it! I have my own place with a few roommates.

I am getting an African Spur Thigh (sulcata) tortoise this week, and am absolutely thrilled. I was at an associates house, and he had both full grown and a litter of hatchlings and they are the most adorable things ever. Extremely excited.

I've always been a turtle/tort lover, and I've just always seemed to have one in or around the house.

Barista5261

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Central Florida
Hello and welcome! I'm across I4 in Orlando [SMILING FACE WITH OPEN MOUTH]

Be sure to post pictures of your little one when you bring him home! We love pictures!

TortsNTurtles

10 Year Member!
North East
Welcome! Well you will enjoy it here there are many owners of the big guys here . Don't forget pictures when you get your new baby :) If I lived in Florida I would have a ton of tortoises and turtles!

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
A Land Far Away...
Hi and welcome! Are you getting one from his clutch (not litter in the tortoise world)?

jiakurai

I will be sure to upload many pictures! I'm currently in the process of building a turtle table that will have some sort of extension system for when he gets bigger. Kind of like a nicer dining table.

Yes, I am getting him from his clutch, which are few left. I'm not sure how old, but somewhere around 1-2 months is my estimate. I will not be keeping him in a glass aquarium, as I was told not to for various reasons.

I'm super super excited to add him, and am thrilled that he can be my companion for such a large amount of years.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi Jake, and welcome to the Forum!