I call them PYGMY Redfoots

Status
Not open for further replies.

amazoa

5 Year Member
About 4 years ago I adopted a female Redfoot which I estimated to be 4 years old. When she was almost 7 years old she started laying eggs but they were really small (like the size of a marble). None hatched. The next season 2 layings none hatched still eggs were small. This season she laid again small eggs but this time on day 140 they hatched. I have a penny next to a couple of hatchlings so you can see how tiny they are. In the second picture I put a more average size hatchling between the two Pygmies. I have been breeding redfoots for over 20 years but nerver ever experienced any hatchlings as small as these......Mother Nature is amazing.....Have a Good Weekend all---Richard

Attachments

• P6147828p.jpg
    P6147828p.jpg
    199.8 KB · Views: 181
  • P6147831com.jpg
    P6147831com.jpg
    198.2 KB · Views: 189

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Chicago, Illinois, USA
WOW, they are really small. Keep us informed on how they do. Are you going to keep any to see what size they grow up to be? Would be interesting.

amazoa

5 Year Member
wellington said:
WOW, they are really small. Keep us informed on how they do. Are you going to keep any to see what size they grow up to be? Would be interesting.
///////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

Tom they caught up pretty quick after 2 months of growth. I sold them all but she laid again this past Sept. and this time I will keep a couple of the offspring and keep some records on their weight and growth. It would be interesting to keep track of that and compare % of weight gain each month when compared with some of my average sized hatchlings. - Richard

kanalomele

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Platinum Tortoise Club
East Bay area
Cool! This is from one specific female. Is she average sized??

amazoa

5 Year Member
kanalomele said: