I need advice and guidance on my hatchling Golden greek

mlongmire

Location (City and/or State)
Texas
I just purchased a golden greek hatchling. I did my research before I bought him and found a lot of contradictory information or so it seems to me anyway. So I would like advice from anyone who actually have experience with his breed. I am new to tortoises but do own other reptiles. My setup is like this, 20 gallon long tank (only temporary) Temp. 95+ on basking end UVB bulb and heat emitter, 80ish inside the tank he has a hide on the cooler end the temp drops at night to the low 80's high 70's I use a heat gun and thermometers to measure, Substrate sphagnum/peat moss for moisture with a layer of reptibark.. Food:mixed greens, softened Mazuri tortoise pellets sprinkled with calcium.
He is eating but here are my questions and concerns: I mist his tank everyday should I soak him everyday or what? Should I supplement with calcium every day? Am I missing some other supplements I need? He is still a little shy and timid and he sleeps a lot is this normal for a baby? I am using saucers for food and water buried to be level with the substrate but I think he is having trouble getting in and out I have looked online and in pet stores with no luck any one know where and what to buy? Most of you out there have a lot more experience than I do I value your opinions. Any other advice would also be welcome. Sorry to be so long winded

CarolM

South Africa - Cape Town