Ideal weight for newly owned Russian. Please advise.

Spannerz

Hi. I've now had my Russian Tortoise Sid for a week. I wanted to allow him to settle in before I started to introduce any stress to him by weighing and measuring.

Today I took is first measurements and he weighs 62g and is 5.5cm in length.

Can anyone advise if this is an ideal weight for his length? Should I allow for further weigh ins so I can collate numbers for average weight gain?

Please take in to account I am new to the tortoise world. I rely heavily on the advice I have gained from the forum which has been a real support.

Many thanks

Shakudo

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
The Netherlands
Hello!

Here is a guide line for some info on weight ratios for Horsfield's tortoises.

ImageUploadedByTortoise Forum1412272729.307978.jpg

Spannerz

Thank you for your reply, unfortunately I am experiencing some issues with the file loading so am unable to see what you have posted :/

I'll continue to try in the hope I can take some information from this. Your response is greatly appreciated.

I tried a Google search but as ever there is so much conflicting information. I was hoping to get some more advice and feedback here.

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
They all grow at such different rates. And a big meal or a big poop can change the weight be several grams on a little one like this. I wouldn't get too concerned with specific numbers. The tort should feel heavy for his size in your hand. Make sure temps, diet, hydration, etc.. are all good, and then just look for a steady increase in weight over time.

Here are a couple of threads for reference:
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/russian-tortoise-care-sheet.80698/
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/beginner-mistakes.45180/

Spannerz

Thank you Tom.