I'm new to tortoises and the forum!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Horsegirlmaddy

5 Year Member
Hello all! My name is maddy, I'm from Alberta (Canada). I'm new to tortoises, but am an all-around pet lover. I have two horses, two ferrets, a hamster, a hedgehog, a myriad of fish tanks, and will be acquiring a red footed tortoise soon. I work at a pet store, and a guy came in and needs to rehome his red footed tortoise. He comes with his tortoise table, but I'm not sure of anything else. So just in case, I'm getting a heat lamp and UVB light tonight. I will also be picking up a calcium & D3 supplement, a misting bottle and a moist cave. I will be feeding a large assortment of leafy greens, etc and giving him a warm bath at least a few times a week. What else do I need to know?

Please and thank you to any info and wisdom you can share :)

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
A Land Far Away...
Hi and welcome! Do you happen to know how large or old this tortoise is? Makes a bit of difference in what it needs or what you need to do. Like the soaking isn't always something you have to do, especially if not a hatchling. Also most redfoots don't seem to enjoy the higher powered UV lighting, so you might need a lower wattage one or perhaps even no UV just a light.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi Maddy, and welcome to the Forum!

Horsegirlmaddy

5 Year Member