Introduction

Myroli

Hello everyone, I am a newbie to tortoises or any reptile/ chelonian tyoe animal, I will be getting my first one tomorrow, a sulcata baby, and before it gets here I want to make 100% certain i know the correct temperature and humidity levels. I looked it up and the most common was 80 degrees in the cooler part, at least 100 in the basking spot and humidity 85%. Is that right?

tortdad

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
NW Houston TX
Hello everyone, I am a newbie to tortoises or any reptile/ chelonian tyoe animal, I will be getting my first one tomorrow, a sulcata baby, and before it gets here I want to make 100% certain i know the correct temperature and humidity levels. I looked it up and the most common was 80 degrees in the cooler part, at least 100 in the basking spot and humidity 85%. Is that right?

Welcome to TFO. Yes those are good temps and humidity levels. Please go to the sulcata section and read our in depth care sheets for them.

What type of substraight are you planning on using?

tortdad

5 Year Member
NW Houston TX
Good choice, so is orchard bark or cypress mulch. What type of UVB bulb are you using and what size is your enclosure?

tortdad

5 Year Member
NW Houston TX
So far everything sounds good except the 20gal tank, that's a bit too small. Even a hatchling should be kept in minimum a 40gal breeder tank. A sulcata will out grow the 40 gallon tank in a matter of a month or two. Most of us use large rubber storage containers for the first few months then build them custom tables that are a bit larger.

Myroli

Oh, okaye, I guess some breeders aren't too good when it comes to correct info, huh? That's who suggested to me the 20 gallon tank, in one of the sections on their website :/

tortdad

5 Year Member
NW Houston TX
Oh, okaye, I guess some breeders aren't too good when it comes to correct info, huh? That's who suggested to me the 20 gallon tank, in one of the sections on their website :/