Is my Sulcata Underweight?

SiaraEA

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Kansas
I have a sulcata that is about 9-10 weeks old. She is very active and eats a lot. This is my first time weighing her and she is 52 grams. I was reading other posts on here of people's 1 month old weighing that much. So is 52 grams too light for a 2, almost 3 month old??

Bee62

Germany
Hello and a very warm welcome to this wonderful forum. Glad you found us.
I have not been here for so long, but I feel very well here. There is much knowlegde about all tortoises.

I don`t think that 52 Grams is too light for your sulcata baby.
When I got my sulcata babies they weight 68 grams at the age of 3 months.
The most important is that your baby is active and eats well every day. That is normal for these tortoise babies. But they all grow and develop different.
I don`t see any problems.
May you show us the enclosure of your tort ? Pictures are interesting every time.
Good luck with your baby.

Sabine

Tom

The Dog Trainer
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Southern California
I have a sulcata that is about 9-10 weeks old. She is very active and eats a lot. This is my first time weighing her and she is 52 grams. I was reading other posts on here of people's 1 month old weighing that much. So is 52 grams too light for a 2, almost 3 month old??

Hello and welcome.

That weight is not bad, but whether your tortoise is healthy or not, really depends more on how it was started as a baby and how you are caring for it now. Most breeders start them far too dry. Do you know how your baby was started? Wet or dry routine?

Have you seen these yet:
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/how-to-raise-a-healthy-sulcata-or-leopard-version-2-0.79895/
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/beginner-mistakes.45180/
http://www.tortoiseforum.org/threads/for-those-who-have-a-young-sulcata.76744/

SiaraEA

5 Year Member
Kansas
Hello and a very warm
welcome to this wonderful forum. Glad you found us.