Is my Tortoise a boy or girl.

Givengrace23

Location (City and/or State)
Somerset PA
So we rescued a leopard tortoise back in January. “She” was still somewhat small. We thought from a few things we read online that it was a girl. Now that we’ve had “her” for 9 months she has grown by leaps and bounds...to me it looks more like a boy from what internet pictures show...but I’m no expert at all and was wanting advice from fellow tortoise owners. What is you opinion? One pic is just to show “her” off cause we think she’s super cool. The other is for helping to figure out if we need to stop calling her Roxy and switch to Rocky. Lol

89D73A2A-1BA9-4BB3-B7BC-64F87E7E6C7A.jpeg70A94C16-344B-4CC0-AE3B-50E02268F585.jpeg

zovick

10 Year Member!
I cannot see enough of the bottom of the tortoise because it gets cut off when the attachment opens up. Try holding it up higher in the frame and posting another picture of the tail area. IE, cut the head out of the picture and center the tail area in the picture so it doesn't get chopped off at the bottom.

Or maybe you can post the full picture you already have instead of the thumbnail.

Last edited:

Maro2Bear

5 Year Member
Glenn Dale, Maryland, USA
So we rescued a leopard tortoise back in January. “She” was still somewhat small. We thought from a few things we read online that it was a girl. Now that we’ve had “her” for 9 months she has grown by leaps and bounds...to me it looks more like a boy from what internet pictures show...but I’m no expert at all and was wanting advice from fellow tortoise owners. What is you opinion? One pic is just to show “her” off cause we think she’s super cool. The other is for helping to figure out if we need to stop calling her Roxy and switch to Rocky. Lol

Lucky you with rescuing a Leopard! Looks great. I’ll guess female too. But need more pix of the tail area.

Ink

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Virginia