Is this leopard baby a good one???

Status
Not open for further replies.

ahoffman2014

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Austin, Texas
I'm attempting to purchase my first leopard tortoise and have come across this little fellow who is advertised as a high white leopard tortoise. He definitely looks very white to me but I've read on other threads that people often try to pass leopards off as high white when their new growth will simply darken as they age and you will be left with a regular leopard tortoise. Please let me know what you all think!image.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

BeeBee*BeeLeaves

5 Year Member
Orange County, So Cal
What a beauty! Lots of white for sure, more than just being growth lines. Do they have pictures of the parents that they can share with you from their breeder? That might help you decide, to be sure. Looks high white to me, but I am no expert. If you get it, pictures please! : )

Baoh

10 Year Member!
Florida
It will mottle as it ages. I also advise seeking an alternative source for purchase.

GeoGpp1012

5 Year Member
Brooklyn , NY
You can find many reputable leopard tortoise breeders here on the forum...ESP cause members here starts there hatchlings off right :)

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Looks like that baby has been raised in a dry environment. I would steer clear of it

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
S/he is cute. Doesn't look as white to me as I have seen. I agree with the others.

LeopardTortLover

5 Year Member
Manchester, UK