Just joined! Tortoise keeps flipping into his back, what else can I do?

CharlotteAlicia

Hi all.
I am new to joining this site but have often come in to browse the wealth of information it holds.
I have a Tunisian spur thighed tortoise (so my certificate says.. though it doesn't say what sex, my vet thinks it's female but we've always thought he was male!). We have had him for 4/5 years, he will be 18 in August. He has gone through a couple of outdoor enclosures due to expansion as he was beginning to flip himself. We have also blacked out the sides so he cannot see past his enclosure and attempt further escapes (as was suggested on another post).
He stopped flipping over for a while and begun again this year.. We have found suggestions to put things in the enclosure as he may be bored, so we have a tunnel and low ramps (which he loves).. his flipping stopped for a while but now he has begun doing it again. We work all day and dread coming home to what we might find. We have blocked the corners as he tended to flip near them but at times we have found him no where near anything that might have caused him to flip.

Is his enclosure too small ?
Help needed ! Thank you.
Sorry for the essay !

Last edited:

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Location (City and/or State)
Clovis, CA
Hi, and welcome! In my opinion, an 18 year old tortoise needs to live outside. Let's send a shout-out to one of our more experienced members who raised a greek tortoise in the UK for over 40 years - @JoesMum

CharlotteAlicia

Hi, and welcome! In my opinion, an 18 year old tortoise needs to live outside. Let's send a shout-out to one of our more experienced members who raised a greek tortoise in the UK for over 40 years - @JoesMum