lethargic

Status
Not open for further replies.

drgpenardo

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
I am new to the tortoise world. I have 2 yellow foots and 1 red. My newest baby Duncan is about 5-6 months old. I've never had a hatchling before. He's acting VERY lethargic. I can put him down in his cage and he doesn't move for the rest of the day. Also, I haven't seen him eat lately. He eats fresh veggies and fruit. I've researched their diet and he's right where he should be. But why all the sleep? Is this normal?

Help!!!

Jacqui

Wanna be raiser of Lemon Drop tortoises
10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
A Land Far Away...
First off, have you checked that the basics are still good? Like the temps and humidity? Have you been soaking him? How long have you had him?

Itort

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Iowa
Have you read the care sheet at www.turtletary.com? Terry has nailed the husbandry down to a simple highly effective system.

drgpenardo

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Yeah, I live in NC and it's been crazy humid lately. He soaks some everyday on his own usually and he basks because I lay him in the basking area. I put him outside some but it's been too hot to do much of that either. So I make sure they get Calcium with D every week. He's just been sleeping all the time

Crazy1

10 Year Member!
Inland Empire, CA
If you have read the care sheet at http://www.turtletary.com then you know he should be on pure calcium But NO D. He will get his D from the animal protein (Pro Plan) So if you are dosing him with D he and feeding him animal protien he may be getting too much D.

drgpenardo

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Pro Plan? And how much protein? They very rarely get it because my 2 older torts were from the pet shop and they had pyramiding from a pure pellet diet. They're shells are getting harder and the pyramiding has stopped. What else should I be doing?