Lots of help needed for a redfoot.

Leah_Daniel

Location (City and/or State)
US
Hi all. I'm a newbie. I have a friend that had to rehome her 4 yr old redfoot tortoise due to unusual circumstances. She brought the tortoise, La La Dot, in an aquarium. With a hundred watt light bulb. A regular light bulb. I was told to make sure she had food and water and all would be fine.

Apparently, that's not how you are supposed to house a redfoot...

So, first off, enclosure. I'm not cheap, I prefer to provide for my pets correctly, but I am a single mom and a student so money is an issue. I'm looking for an appropriate way to house Dot that won't break the bank. I keep seeing that rubber made totes will work, but I would prefer to know exactly what I need to make it happen. So if someone could point me to an A to Z tutorial for dummies that would be great.

Lighting. Again, clueless. With the exception of I'm pretty sure that a bulb for a normal house lamp is not the best thing for the job. Links to exactly what I need would be a huge help.

Keep in mind that I do have three cats. They do not show much interest in Dot, but I think the enclosure would have to be closed in to keep Dot safe. I also live in West Central Ohio, so it needs to be an indoor setup.

Any help or pointers you can give me would be welcome. I am so overwhelmed by all of the conflicting information out there.

Thanks in advance!

crimson_lotus

10 Year Member!
Massachusetts
Hi Leah,

Quick question - how large is Dot? Would you happen to have a picture? I am worried that this tortoise hasn't had UV light at all and might have metabolic bone disease, which looks like a caved in shell and is very painful.

Are you capable of building your own enclosure, and do you have the space to dedicate in your home for, lets say, a 4x8ft?

What are you feeding Dot? Where are you located (just the state) and are you monitoring temperatures in the enclosure?