Mathilda the Mighty 170 pounds of lovin... and her story

brokerheather

Location (City and/or State)
Phoenix AZ
So, it's been requested that I share more about my BIG girl. She's really insanely huge and I haven't fully adjusted to that yet. My dear elderly friend Doris is 85 and just had to go into a nursing home, unfortunately. I befriended her about a year ago after finding out she had parrots, dogs, was into art and had a sulcata. She also had a pig, but the pig has since gone to a sanctuary. I didn't even meet "Sammy" the sulcata, which I assumed was male for quite a while. I would come over in the late afternoons and he was often in his burrow, which didn't appear that large, per se.
Doris was not able to return to her home, so I had to sell it (I'm a broker) and it's in a very good area with lots of tear downs and rebuilding in Phoenix (Arcadia). So, I got an agent investor to buy it and give us 45 days back to get out of the house. It was a saga... I'll share.. since I was asked. So, the lady known as the "crazy neighbor lady" had previously been helping out Doris and assisted in feeding Sammy from time to time. Sammy was in a rather small, dirt enclosure with no heat source. Sammy, we have since found out, is a female. She was purchased in 2008 for $1300 (super overpriced, I know) and was something like 17" at the time according to Doris' note. She was born in 2001. We thought Goliath was a more fitting name, until this info was uncovered and upon further examination I verified she is a girl! Mathilda the Mighty it is. Mathilda is not only the name of a tank, but also means "mighty in battle". Tilly for short. She is 24" long, we haven't weighed her yet... so it's a guess. Although, I can say that 4 men with a huge thick double beach towel huff and puff carrying her. That said my friends who lift 50 pound boxes of clay around guesstimated 170.