Matteo is Off the Growth Charts. Help with Diet?

Quixx66

Location (City and/or State)
Louisiana
Hi y’all,
I’ve been thinking that Matteo is growing faster than I expected but I’m a newb so I wasn’t sure. I took someone’s advice to check Hermann’s growth charts. To my surprise, Matteo is the size of a five year old! He’s 62g not the 24 tops recomAnd he’s supposed to be one of the very smallest Hermann’s species.

I’m concerned about his health, not him being svelte, so please no snark about me fat shaming my tortoise (yes that happened a few weeks ago on the TF Facebook page. By more than one person.)

I provide 1) two Mazuri pellets a day, often soaked with herbs. He only eats one, and most often less. 2) Spring mix. I give him she’ll die but he really only eats one or two leaves. 3) a mixture of the above.

It seems to me he stops eating once he’s full. Do I need to cut down on what I offer him? Offer him less caloric food?

I have testified mix seeds from Tortoise Supply I can start to germinate now indoors, but I fear my hay fever won’t allow me to grow in his enclosure in the winter.

Note that I will get him some new hides (and plants soon). I recently ordered ones that are too big or wrong kind, so it a bit bare.

Anything I should be doing differently?

Thanks all!
001A7985-C8CF-431A-A437-81FD7DE9CE78.jpeg242EE3A8-375B-43ED-A2FD-9B9A7FC22A0E.jpeg9202FFBD-CCA1-4359-8E89-E500457A3CFB.jpeg2C37E3E9-4795-4074-8838-CFB0B1EDDB69.jpeg9E8C269D-4FCA-4C5C-913B-60C68B7DDCD0.png

Last edited:

Ink

Tortoise Club
5 Year Member
Platinum Tortoise Club
Virginia
Can you post a picture of his plastron? Is he a Western or Eastern Hermanns?

Krista S

Platinum Tortoise Club
Saskatchewan