Moving Across State Lines

Status
Not open for further replies.

whughes

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
California
Hi! So I am a California native, getting ready to move to Oregon for a little while. I'm planning on taking my Greek tort, 6 goldfish, and possibly a harlequin macaw with me. I'm planning on packing up the Subaru and road tripping it with them north and I have a few questions since I am still somewhat new to the world of caring for exotic animals recreationally.

I've been trying to do some research on customs crossing the Oregon/CA border and what the respective governments' policies on these animals are. Do I need permitting/documents from a vet? I will NOT be breeding anyone or anything up there, the bunch of us will just be roommates and we'll keep to ourselves. I know less about Oregon, but I know California can be pretty strict about what comes into the state. I'm terrified of getting caught at the border and not being allowed in on either side of this trip. I have acquired all these guys while in the state of California through legitimate exchanges. Does anyone out there have experience with this or can point me to some good resources?

Also, the drive is going to be around 10 hours each way and I'm nervous about my tort's temperature on this trek. Is there a clever way to keep him warm on our journey? He does have a little plastic transport tote that he's comfortable in, and we've taken road trips up to two hours round-trip with no heat source and that's gone well. He does have somewhat of a depressed immune system, so thinking about him going without heat for that long makes me a little worried.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks everyone :)

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA