Musk Turtle Perfect Setup

Status
Not open for further replies.

slimytoadstool

5 Year Member
So im contemplating getting musk turtles, and i've googled to but to find that some experts are contradicting with other experts. All i want to know is, what exactly do i need for a hatchling musk. I have a 28 US Gallon tank already. So, its just a case of what equipment i would need and what id have to do to set it up so it creates a stable environment for the musk. Any other useful tips would be greatly appreciated :D

Any pics of your setup so i have a vague idea would be brilliant

Meant to also add, i have a Fluval U2 filter, is this suitable?

jeffbens0n

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Glenmoore, PA
I am not an expert but musk turtles are among the smaller of aquatic turtle species. What type of musk are you thinking of? A 28 gallon tank might be OK for a couple musks at first, but they may need something a little larger as they get larger, as they like to forage around the bottom of the tank. The fluval U2 I believe is rated to 30 gallons which would probably be OK for a 28 gallon assuming it was not filled all the way, but you might want to consider a bigger filter down the road or if you get a larger tank.

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi "Slimeytoadstool:"

Welcome to the forum!! May we know your name and where you are?

I'm not a water turtle expert, but it is my opinion that the mud/musk turtles are not good swimmers. They mainly walk along the bottom and up to the bank to breathe. If you make them do a lot of swimming in order to get to the top to breathe you are doing the turtle a dis service.

Kuro

5 Year Member
i have two common musk(stinkpot) turtle hatchlings in a 20 gallon long. tank is a bit less then half full and i'm using a filter rated for i think a 30 or 40 gallon tank to help keep the water clean since turtles are messier then fish.