My first Sulcata is coming home Sunday, help me plan pls

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blessed3x

5 Year Member
I'm thrilled to announce my first Sulcata is coming home Sunday.
Sure would appreciate folks here helping me make a list of things
to get and be prepared for for her arrival.
I asked what she was eating, was wondering if I should
change her diet slowly. Add or take away things.
They have her on a pellet they said was similar to rabbit pellets
and they give her alfalfa and grass hay and sometimes luttuce.

Wanting to give her the best I can, your advice and help to prepare is
much appreciated.

Is 12 to 14 inch small or normal for a 9 y/o?
In her pics she looks good. But I'm no expert.

CJ

Who is thrilled and very excited.

Greg T

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
League City, TX
We really need an idea of how you plan on housing it. Have a box, aquarium, container? What type of substrate are you going to use? sand/dirt, eco-earth, etc.? Let us know if you have any of that set up already.

Food should be kept the same as what they are feeding at first and then slowly mix in better stuff. If the rabbit pellets are actually mazuri food, then you are doing good. If they are actually rabbit pellests then you need to switch off them. Get some spring mix lettuce and some red or green leaf lettus at the grocery store and feed that also. Unless you are able to let him graze outside now, you may have to hold off on the grasses/hay. If you are picking it up then ask for a bunch of food/hay from the supplier to help keep you going for several days.

The size sounds good, but I'm not a sulcata expert. Can't wait to see pictures and let us know how it is going. :)

jobeanator

10 Year Member!
northern new york