My name is Pat....

barbponys

and I'm new to Tortoises. I have been doing a lot of research, and talking to knowledgeable people about Sulcata's. There's been no sugar coating of what is required or how challenging they can be. I have a ton of space, 4 1/2 acres with horses, goats and a cow, as well as dogs and cats. I have plenty of room to create an outdoor enclosure, my main challenge is I live in the Pacific Northwest so winters are cold and dreary. I know someone that has a Sully, he doesn't live far from me, I'm going to go check out his enclosure and meet his tortoise. I need to figure out what I have to do to make a warm, humid, safe enclosure for the winters. I also will need to grow an indoor garden for feeding during the winter months(green house?). I won't be rescuing one until I have everything set up and ready to go, I'm thankful I have a tractor with a backhoe to dig the ditch and sink cinder blocks! I hope to get one a bit older, who has been too much for their current home... We'll see what the universe points me toward. I'm thankful to have been pointed in this direction!

crimson_lotus

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Massachusetts
Hello and welcome :) it's great your planning everything beforehand, I'm sure whatever tortoise you choose they will be very happy. Feel free to ask any questions!

wellington

10 Year Member!
Tortoise Club
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Hello and Welcome:). Sounds like you already did a lot of work and research. Just be careful of the info you get. Some of the old and very bad info is still being past around. Don't forget pics when you get you life long shelled friend.

Lyn W

5 Year Member
UK