My two sulcatas like being together, should I still separate them?

NewTortEnthusiast

Location (City and/or State)
Bloomington, CA
Hello all, I'm here asking for anyone's opinion on if I should separate my two 2 year old sulcata tortoises, even though they really love being around each other.

I've had them for almost a week now, I purchased them from my close neighbor who gave me a ridiculously low price for them. I'm somewhat new to caring for sulcatas, but have had experience owning older tortoises. The breeder (of my knowledge) raises them dry and gives them a poor diet. I chose Steve and George out of a group of 14 he had. They are small for their age and I am currently working on building them enclosed chambers.

The man I bought them from, aside from his poor raising techniques, had done little to organize and separate his tortoises. I have since told him all this and he has acknowledged his mistakes. He is not an old man that has been doing this for years and years, he told me this was his second batch he was selling and was more than happy to change his enclosures (regardless of him being a genuine tortoise lover or him wanting to make more money) anyway future hatchlings will get better lives.

However their past lives were with their previous owner, Steve and George are inseparable. They have been walking together, sleeping together, basking together, and have even aided each other with obstacles like when either of them have gotten stuck the other would push against them and free them from the tight spot they were in. They have been doing this all on their own accord. Prior to beginning construction of 1 or 2 enclosed chambers for higher humidity to help with their pyramiding, I kept them in a temporary 15ft X 30ft walled area with many edible plants, plenty of sun and basking areas as well as places to go off into the shade and sleep.