My WC Russian Wants to Hibernate....?

lismar79

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Ohio USA
I am assuming that Martha is trying to hibernate. I bought her from Petco last Feb so this behavior from her is new to me. She has almost completely stopped eating. Temps have not changed in her enclosure, UV content inside is the same, but she is not getting as much outside time as its been cooler & rainy.
She spends most of the day & night buried into the substrate now & she did not use to. I have been digging her up to soak her BUT I am not sure if I should be bothering her at all???????

I have no experience burmating so I do not want to do a crash course with my beloved Martha unless it will negatively effect her health long term if I don't.

Question- Is it all dangerous to her health, being that shes wild caught, to not hibernate her? I am trying to stop a natural process that I am sure she has done for many years....
& Is there anything I should be doing or not doing to stop her - AKA- I wake her up, soak her, put her under UV Lamp, And place her near her food bowl hoping to encourage her to snap out of it....

Thanks for any advice.

smarch

5 Year Member
Massachusetts
there wont be any huge negative health effects stopping hibernation even as a WC who has before. I've had Nank for 2 years now, we're entering winter #3 together no hibernation, I couldn't not have my munchkin to wake up every morning (he helps my depression). He never really fought me keeping him awake, he never even seemed to notice it was winter. You said UV hasn't changed, how are the temps? have they dropped some with it getting colder outside? How long do keep the UV light on during the day, people suggest when torts decide they want to hibernate to bump up the "day" length for them by keeping the lights on slightly longer if you're not already.