Need help with enclosure

Status
Not open for further replies.

Isa

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Montreal, QC, Canada
View attachment 625Hello Everyone

My name is Isabelle, I'm from Montreal, Canada. I got a little Hermann tortoise 2 months ago. She's about 9-10 months, her name is Hermy and she is really really cute. It is my first tortoise so I'm not an expert on the subject but I hope to be one one day ;) When I bought her, the guy at the pet shop told me to buy a glass vivarium!! This week, I read on this site that it is not good for Hermann tortoise because they do not understand the glass thing. So I put some paper around the terrarium, so she can not see outside anymore. The vet told me to put some plexiglass on one half of the top of the vivarium because it is not humid enough in my house, so that way the humidity will not come out of the terrarium.

The temps are: 24-27 on the cold side
27-31 on the warm side
and around 31-37 on the basking spot

The humidity is about 21-35% (where I live it is very cold outside 6 months a year so with the heat, the humidity goes down fast)

A month and a half ago, I put some coco husk in the terrarium as a substract. But the vet told me to remove it because she was eating it (she eats everything my little Hermy :D)

The same time I went to the vet, he told me my little Hermy had a RI so she had to take antibiotic with her food for 21 days. He told me that since she had a RI, to not put any substact in the cage because of the dust and everything. So I bought some carpet for reptiles and tortoises.

Tomorrow is the last day that I will give her her antibiotic so I can put a substract next week end (the vet told me to wait 1 week to see if she is still sick)

I have 2 ideas in mind. Aspen (10CM) or a mix of top soil (70%) and play sand (30%) or both

My questions are:

1. Is it dangerous if she eats the aspen or the mix?? I heard it is normal for a tortoise to eat her new substract?