Need help with new baby sulcata

Status
Not open for further replies.

sheac88

5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Des Moines, IA
Hello all. My girlfriend and I have been doing some research on sulcata tortoises for a few months now and decided that we wanted to get one. So the opportunity arose a few days ago (12/30/10) to buy one for 50 dollars. We decided we were ready for it and ran to the store to get the needed supplies. Here is what we got:
-20 gallon long tank
-alfalfa pellets for bedding
-land tortoise food
-orchard grass
-75 watt heat bulb with fixture
-UVB fluorescent bulb and fixture
-log hide
-thermometer/hygrometer
The tortoise that we purchased is only about six months old. Since we brought him home I haven't seen him eat and he sleeps most of the time. He seems to get pretty active when I give him his daily soak. But when placed back in his enclosure, he finds a place to lay down and sleep. I can't find much info on this young of tortoise and what is normal behavior. I tried moistened tortoise food, romaine lettuce, wet orchard grass, dandelion leaves, and a bit of mashed banana. He was biting at some orchard grass earlier tonight but didn't actually eat any. So I'm wondering if anyone here would be able to help me determine if this is normal behavior for a baby tort or if there is something wrong with him.
Thanks!

Yvonne G

Old Timer
TFO Admin
10 Year Member!
Platinum Tortoise Club
Clovis, CA
Hi Sheac88:

Welcome to the forum!!

May we know your name and where you are?

sheac88

5 Year Member
Des Moines, IA
Tom said:
Hello and welcome. Read this and then get back to us with any specific questions you might have. There is a good chance that he's too cool and all the details of heating, lighting and housing are discussed in the link. How much does he weigh?

http://www.tortoiseforum.org/Thread-How-To-Raise-Sulcata-Hatchlings-and-Babies