New adoption(maybe)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nay

10 Year Member!
Location (City and/or State)
Belchertown Ma
Hi there, I am new to the Leopard site because a friend called and her friend has a tortoise he wants to place. When I spoke to him finally he tells me it's an African Leopard.(I hope) He has had it long enough to be about 10 in (but not sure how long he's had it) The pet store that sold it to him gave him a tiny strip of paper with his purchase of this pet, and since it only said they eat greens, that's all it's been fed.
It got to big for his aquarium(my bet is it's a 10 gal,) And now, get this, it just runs free in his house. No lights, no squash, no nothing!!!!!The one good news is he has had it in his backyard all summer. So I am thinking about it. He places him/her in the tub every few days. Easy pet right? (Please realize I am not kidding about this poor torts sitution. I abhore people getting any pets with no thought process. Sometimes, when I write I think people understand my undertone.
Question; they seem to have similar requirements to the red foot.no? I have an outside large pen, for the warm months, then kids pools in the winter. It seems they get pretty large, but will they be about to go through sheet rock large? He claims some one said they get aggressive with other torts, but my guess is he's thinking male to male thing.
Any thoughts?/ they really look like a cool tortoise, but I don't want to jump in head first. I have not seen him yet.
I just feel I need to take him and give him what he needs.
Thanks for all/any ideas.
Yes I will vet check him first, and quarenteen him away from my others.
Nadine

JustAnja

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Arkansas