New Baby Black Greek

Shaif

Location (City and/or State)
Pittsburgh, PA
Hi All,

I'm sorry if this post is a repeat of anything that has been said before. I'm completely new to all of this. We just got a baby Black Greek named Zeus. He's adorable and perfect, but he's also tiny and incredibly fragile. He sleeps all day. Wakes only for 1-2 hours max. He eats very little--greens once a day, but none of the sortened premium tortoise pellets he came with.
We've had him for 4 days now. He came via UPS from Florida.
We have him housed in a tortoise palace enclosure bought from brookstone. Temps are 100 basking, 80 otherwise. Substrate is reptibark. Humidity 50%. Soak once a day, 20 min.

Is this normal behavior for a new baby? Should I change anything?

Thank you so much for advice or help. I worry about my little baby!

Sincerely,
Shaif

Kristoff

5 Year Member
Ottawa, Ontario
Hi @Shaif,

Hope more experienced members will chime in, but it does sound like Zeus :) just needs some time to adjust to his new environment.

A photo of the enclosure might be helpful.

Shaif

Pittsburgh, PA
image.jpeg
image.jpeg image.jpeg

Here are some pics of my darling. The cage is 4ft x 3ft. He has not even seen the hide hole-- he tends to stay in one corner.
I mist him 1-2 times a day and soak twice a day. He still has almost no appetite and sleeps all day. He is awake only a few minutes at a time.

Please help, I'm quite worried about my little Zeus.

Temp is 100 in basking corner, 75-85 on opposite corner. Substrate is reptibark. I work hard to keep humidity above 50, but it's very difficult. I'm looking into a mist device, but reviews are sketchy.

I truly appreciate any help and advice. This is my first tort, and I love him so much!

Sincerely,
Shaif

Last edited by a moderator:

Kristoff

5 Year Member
Ottawa, Ontario
Lovely baby!

I'm sorry I can't give much advice - your setup looks perfect to me, but I'm also a newbie. :)

How are the overnight temps?