New Baby Hermann's Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

heather4change

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
Location (City and/or State)
Kalamazoo, MI
Hello, This is my first time on the forum as a member but have been using it for the last few weeks to collect information for our new little Hermann's which arrived on Tuesday this week. The forum has been great for a ton of my questions and concerns but I still have a few more. Cody ,our little guy , is eight months old and seems to be doing well. One of my concerns with him is that he is not eating very much. Since Tuesday he has eaten only three quarter size pieces of romain lettuce. I have offered spinach, cabbage, broccoli, store bought turtle food, and snow peas. I've chopped them really finely, I tried feeding him at different times of the day, nothing has seemed to work so I gave in and gave him some romain( I know it's very poor in nutritional value). My other concern is with the amount of light he is getting, I have purchased the poper bulbs that have UVA/UVB. He is only out in the lighted area for maybe an hour total during the day. He is in his little hideout the rest of the time. So, am I being neutrotic or are these serious cocerns. Being this is his first week, I want to start off on the right foot! Any advice or questions for me would be greatly appreciated.

egyptiandan

10 Year Member!
5 Year Member
USA
Hi Heather,
Romaine lettuce is actually pretty nutritious, it's the head lettuces like iceburg that aren't. The other things you've tried should only be given once in a while and not on a regular basis.
In the winter you should be able to find Romaine, red and green leaf lettuce, escarole, curly endive and dandelion greens in your grocery store. In the spring, summer and fall you should be able to switch to a mostly weed diet.
Are you giving any kind of supplements?
What are the temperatures in your enclosure, under basking light, warm end, cool end and night time?

Danny

heather4change